First day nerves!

Well today felt like the first day of school; I was a bag of nerves as I ate my breakfast this morning, anticipating the day ahead – I had finally made it, this was the day I had waited so long for – my first day as a trainee teacher.

To be fair, it was a good day; it was very information heavy, needless to say. The morning lecture lasted from 9 – 12.30, by which time I was starving because there was so much to take in and remember that my brain was on overload and I was in serious need of some energy. Our lecturer took us through a PowerPoint about ‘Teaching and Learning’ and we went through all the legal responsibilities and signed our contacts for the course. After a much needed lunch break we did a few activities which I understood to be icebreakers because we had to split into partners to do a few activities. We learnt about our ePortfolio and the teaching standards. Then we were free to go (and have a lie down, haha).

I found the day really valuable and I met some really nice people. Everyone I’ve spoke to so far seems genuine and friendly, all eager to start the next journey in their/our lives.

Admittedly I was a little bored as we finished early so I went and had a walk around the area. The weather was ideal and it seemed a shame to waste it. Quite suddenly I became homesick, I’m not sure what triggered it, but I started thinking about things like my dad’s cooking, conversations with my mum, taking my dog for a walk, holding hands with my fiancé… I felt alone I suppose. I’m still adjusting to my new life and my feelings are still raw. I’m hoping that by half term in a few weeks I’ll feel much more at home here and less dependant on my memories of home.

It’s been an interesting and long day! I’ll write another post once this induction week has finished 🙂 Now it’s time to relax before another busy day tomorrow.

Rachel

Leave a comment