My first week

Wednesday
We went over the Teaching Standards again and looked through our handbooks regarding a variety of form templates, from lesson observation forms to planning forms for maths and English. Our lecturer guided us through the basics but we were informed that we would learn more about planning at a later date when it becomes more relevant. We talked about the professional responsibilities of a teacher and all the things that teachers are required to do. In the afternoon we looked at the pen portraits which will be used to assess our progress throughout the course and we also looked at our individual training plans. Before we were allowed to leave we were given our MA Education assignment information – tomorrow we have our first Masters lecture… scary!

Thursday
In the morning, we had our first music session with a teacher and music coordinator. She was a really nice lady and got everyone involved in singing along with her. It was amazing how reluctant people were at first but by the end of the session we were harmonising using our ‘best singing voices’. Some of the tips and techniques from the session will definitely come in handy.

In the afternoon the unions came which meant… free stuff! I now have 3 spare tote bags, spare stationary, wall planners (which I needed) and a stress ball in the shape of a brain. I’ll write a post on unions soon.

After lunch we started our first Masters lecture, which was very information heavy but at least I know what I’m supposed to do for my assignment now, phew! I will also explain this in another post.

Friday
We met our professional tutor who will be guiding us throughout the duration of the year. The people who I will be in school with for the next few weeks came together to find out what we will be doing when we go into school next week. Basically we need to do observations and research which should be really interesting.

I didn’t feel very well today; I had a sore throat last night, one of those that make you feel like you’re constantly swallowing sandpaper! Hopefully if it’s a cold, I will recover and be immune before I go into school!

We talked about how to survive on the course. It was reassuring to know that help and support is always available and it’s okay to make mistakes because we are still learning.

So that’s the first week complete! It’s been really interesting, long and paperwork heavy but I am looking forward to going into school next week as a trainee teacher. I’ve got a few bits to do over the weekend regarding research and reading. I may just go for a run/long walk round the local lake, depending on the throat situation. I will keep you updated soon with how everything is going.

Rachel

Leave a comment